Welcome to Safe Communities Wellington County. 

The vision of Safe Communities Wellington County as part of Parachute is “To make Wellington County, the safest and healthiest place in which to live, learn, work and play in Canada.”

A safe community is one that promotes safe and healthy behaviours and protects people from hurt and harm. The Safe Communities Wellington Committee, with representatives from local municipal councils, emergency services, public health, hospitals, school boards and other stakeholders with an interest in making Wellington County a safe place to live, made it their goal to have Wellington County designated a Safe Community by 2013.

On November 22, 2012 residents and representatives from private, public and non-government organizations met to prioritize seven injury categories and to identify the top three priorities for Wellington County.  We extend a sincere thank you to all those who participated and assisted with the exercise.

The top three injury prevention priorities identified were:

  1. Falls - includes all falls
  2. Motor Vehicle (On / Off Road) - All on road motor vehicle collisions (cars, buses, motorcycle etc), all off road motor vehicle collisions (ATV, snowmobile etc)
  3. Intentional Self Harm - All purposely self-inflicted injuries hanging, drug overdoses etc (suicides and attempted suicides)

Other identified priorities include:

  • Sports and Recreation
  • Injuries from Agricultural, Machinery and Tools
  • Accidental Poisonings
  • Pedestrians and Cyclists

The Safe Communities Designation Ceremony took place on Thursday, June 20, 2013 at the Mount Forest & District Sports Complex.

If you or your organization are interested in getting involved with Safe Communities, please contact Program Co-ordinator Christine Veit by email or by phone at 226-820-1413.

Updated September 3, 2014